Why You Should: Read “1Q84” by Haruki Murakami

Goodreads: 3.88

“1Q84” is the first Haruki Murakami book I have ever read. And it’s an understatement to say “it’s quite long”. The book was never mine to begin with, it was lent to me by a friend in exchange for my Kids of Appetite book. He finished it in one week, I finished this in two months. (I know, I could’ve done better.) But the reason why it took me that long is because of my obsession with details. I need to understand why this certain page happened before proceeding to another.

IMG_0204[1]

“18Q4” is a well-written, or should I say, translated piece. It revolves around two people with a short history and a long waited love story. Unlike in other books where the two meant-to-be’s hang out a lot, Aomame and Tengo do not. This kind of story usually leaves readers uninterested but due to Haruki Murakami’s detailed imagination, I was drawn. Its peculiar plot will lead us to other characters that will give light to every event. Aomame’s character is not your stereotyped Japanese woman, in fact, she plays a powerful role that’s both stoic and warm-hearted. Tengo will come off like he’s Haruki Murakami himself, writing the story while he’s in it. Sometimes I’m reading a fantasy, sometimes a little creepy, then it goes easy then questionable.

img_02051.jpg

There’s a detailed violence and sexual content in this book that might be uncomfortable for some but if you skip those parts, you might end up not understanding the story at all. I’m not influencing you to read smut or anything, but every connection made in this book includes things you will not expect.

Question: Have you read it? How long did it take for you to finish it?

  • Zebrazee

Leave a Reply

